Category Archives: History

Moriarty Meets His Match: A Professor and Mrs. Moriarty Mystery (Book 1), by Anna Castle

When writers strain their brains for new ideas, they might consider revisiting an old idea. For instance, Gregory Maguire applied the rules of “alternative fiction,” in his retelling Frank Baum’s classic 1900 story the Wizard of Oz.  Forget Dorothy, Maguire … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Fiction, fiction, History, mystery, Novel, romance, suspense | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Moriarty Meets His Match: A Professor and Mrs. Moriarty Mystery (Book 1), by Anna Castle

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History, by Elizabeth Kolbert

Elizabeth Kolbert’s journalistic style offers an exciting and thorough case study of humanity’s impact on life, and the likelihood that human behavior may extinguish all earthly life, including human life. Not one to research in dusty museums, Kolbert meets the … Continue reading

Posted in Beauty, Book Review, History, Hope, non-fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Feast of Pontius Pilate, by E. Ann McIntyre

Who would have thought that any of the Gospel villains would merit a feast on the liturgical calendar or have churches erected in their memory? Believe it or not, the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church considers Pontius Pilate and his wife, … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Easter, Faith, Fiction, fiction, History, Hope, Inspirational, Lent, Lenten Devotion, Mercy, Novel, Resurrection, The Mystery of Suffering, Year of Mercy | Tagged , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Feast of Pontius Pilate, by E. Ann McIntyre

CWG Book Blast: “Celebrating Advent and Christmas With Children,” by Colleen Rooney

This month, the Catholic Writers’ Guild is touting Guildie Colleen Rooney’s book, Celebrating Advent and Christmas with Children: Food Celebrations with the Saints for Home and School. It is a SOA winner. Are you looking for a warm, inspiring book for … Continue reading

Posted in Advent, Catholic Writing and Publishing, Faith, Family Life, History | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on CWG Book Blast: “Celebrating Advent and Christmas With Children,” by Colleen Rooney

Tribe: On Homecoming and Belonging, by Sebastian Junger

“The United States is so powerful that the only country capable of destroying her might be the United States herself, which means that the ultimate terrorist strategy would be just to leave the country alone. That way, America’s ugliest partisan … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, History, non-fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Specter, By John Desjarlais

Specter mixes the flavors of Romero, Ghostbusters, and The Terminator with generous glops of sour cream and salsa. John Desjarlais embroils his favorite DEA agent, Selena De La Cruz in a fictional parallel to the 1993 assassination of a Cardinal … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Faith, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, History, mystery, Novel, romance, suspense, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Specter, By John Desjarlais

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak

Markus Zusak’s social/historical novel, The Book Thief, follows the citizens of Himmel Street in Molching, Germany between 1939 and 1943.  In particular, he logs the fortunes and misfortunes of Hans and Rosa Hubermann and their foster child, Liesel Meminger, the book … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Family Life, fiction, figures of speech, History, Hope, Humour, Juvenile fiction, Love, Novel, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

The End of the Hunt, by Thomas Flanagan

As Ireland marks the centennial of the Easter Rising, Thomas Flanagan’s nearly two thousand page trilogy—The Year of the French, The Tenants of Time, and The End of the Hunt—immerses readers in Ireland’s struggles between 1798 and 1923, culminating with … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Easter, fiction, History, Novel, Religious Liberty, Resurrection, Reviews, romance, suspense, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on The End of the Hunt, by Thomas Flanagan

Lazarus of Bethany: A Novel, By E. Ann McIntyre

Fictionalized representations of biblical characters often miss the mark. Nevertheless, the Bible serves as a vast treasury of plots and characters, including intriguing hints of narratives read between the lines. One of the most fascinating but little-known characters in the … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Easter, Faith, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, History, Humour, Inspirational, Lent, Love, Mercy, Prayer, Reviews, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Lazarus of Bethany: A Novel, By E. Ann McIntyre

Navajo Autumn—A Navajo Nation Mystery by R. Allen Chappell

The Navajo Nation Mystery Series mixes murder with large doses of anthropology, archaeology and the survivalist lifestyle. Fans of Tony and Anne Hillerman, and James D. Doss, will welcome these jaunts to the Four Corners region of the American west.  Set in … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Writing and Publishing, Fiction, fiction, History, Humour, mystery, Novel, suspense | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments