Category Archives: Humour

6 Dates to Disaster, by Cynthia T. Toney

Life can be horribly unfair, especially if you are a teen. Or so you may think. Sometimes parents can be right, but not all adult decisions seem just and reasonable. Unfortunately, adults usually have the last word. In her third … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Editing, Faith, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, Hope, Humour, Juvenile fiction, Love, Mercy, mystery, Novel, romance, suspense, Volunteering, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on 6 Dates to Disaster, by Cynthia T. Toney

10 steps to Girlfriend Status, by Cynthia T. Toney

Adolescence is the most difficult time of life. How do we survive it? What with all the physical, emotional, external, and self-inflicted challenges, it is no wonder that many teens lose their way on the path to maturity. In 8 … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Catholic Writing and Publishing, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, Hope, Humour, Juvenile fiction, mystery, Novel, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

8 Notes to a Nobody, by Cynthia T. Toney

Ten years in the writing, 8 Notes to a Nobody is required reading for any family with adolescents. Cynthia T. Toney packs her pages with humor, realism, and insight. She also deserves an MS degree as a Master of the Simile … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, figures of speech, Hope, Humour, Love, Novel, romance, Volunteering, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Weak Tea, by Janice Lane Palko

In February 2015, my daughter surprised us by announcing that she was in her second trimester of pregnancy. After experiencing three miscarriages in 14 months, we were overjoyed. Our prayers for a baby, it appeared, would be answered. Plans were … Continue reading

Posted in Catholic Writing and Publishing, Faith, Family Life, Hope, Humour, Inspirational, Love, Mercy | Tagged , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d, by Alan Bradley

Flavia de Luce fans stand to applaud her return from her interminable trials in the tundra of Toronto. Unfortunately, her family barely recognizes her existence. “Like a pair of sick suns rising, (her sister) Daffy’s eyes came slowly up above … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Family Life, fiction, figures of speech, Flavia de Luce Mystery, Humour, Juvenile fiction, Love, mystery, Novel, science, suspense, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d, by Alan Bradley

Ornamental Graces, by Carolyn Astfalk

If you enjoy emotional rollercoasters, Ornamental Graces by Carolyn Astfalk is your book. Among the author’s many gifts is her ability to conjure up fictional characters in many shades of human decency. Imagine, if you will, Dan Malone. He has … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Faith, Family Life, fiction, Hope, Humour, Love, Mercy, Novel, romance, suspense | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Ornamental Graces, by Carolyn Astfalk

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak

Markus Zusak’s social/historical novel, The Book Thief, follows the citizens of Himmel Street in Molching, Germany between 1939 and 1943.  In particular, he logs the fortunes and misfortunes of Hans and Rosa Hubermann and their foster child, Liesel Meminger, the book … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Family Life, fiction, figures of speech, History, Hope, Humour, Juvenile fiction, Love, Novel, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Surviving High School, by Lele Pons with Melissa de la Cruz

Social media has become the message in several recent fictional works. The plot of Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah, for instance, recounts the development of a commercially successful blogger, with some chapters take the form of blog posts. Surviving High School traces … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Blogging, Book Review, Fiction, fiction, Humour, Marketing Your Work, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Lazarus of Bethany: A Novel, By E. Ann McIntyre

Fictionalized representations of biblical characters often miss the mark. Nevertheless, the Bible serves as a vast treasury of plots and characters, including intriguing hints of narratives read between the lines. One of the most fascinating but little-known characters in the … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Easter, Faith, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, History, Humour, Inspirational, Lent, Love, Mercy, Prayer, Reviews, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Lazarus of Bethany: A Novel, By E. Ann McIntyre

Navajo Autumn—A Navajo Nation Mystery by R. Allen Chappell

The Navajo Nation Mystery Series mixes murder with large doses of anthropology, archaeology and the survivalist lifestyle. Fans of Tony and Anne Hillerman, and James D. Doss, will welcome these jaunts to the Four Corners region of the American west.  Set in … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Writing and Publishing, Fiction, fiction, History, Humour, mystery, Novel, suspense | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments