Category Archives: Humour

Lazarus of Bethany: A Novel, By E. Ann McIntyre

Fictionalized representations of biblical characters often miss the mark. Nevertheless, the Bible serves as a vast treasury of plots and characters, including intriguing hints of narratives read between the lines. One of the most fascinating but little-known characters in the … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Easter, Faith, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, History, Humour, Inspirational, Lent, Love, Mercy, Prayer, Reviews, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Lazarus of Bethany: A Novel, By E. Ann McIntyre

Navajo Autumn—A Navajo Nation Mystery by R. Allen Chappell

The Navajo Nation Mystery Series mixes murder with large doses of anthropology, archaeology and the survivalist lifestyle. Fans of Tony and Anne Hillerman, and James D. Doss, will welcome these jaunts to the Four Corners region of the American west.  Set in … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Writing and Publishing, Fiction, fiction, History, Humour, mystery, Novel, suspense | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

The Accidental Alchemist, by Gigi Pandian

Gigi Pandian’s murder-mystery offers comfort on rainy days with teahouses, a warm kitchen and a fun read. She sets her scene in Portland, Oregon, a.k.a. Portlandia, the epicenter of the alternative fringe—a perfect place to hide in plain sight. So … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Fiction, History, Humour, mystery, Novel, science | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Christmas Grace, a Novella, by Leslie Lynch

Leslie Lynch breaks new ground in her second Christmas novella. Although she invites us to spend Christmas on the other side of Louisville, Kentucky, she warns us to steer clear of Gertie, Ella and Natalie—three generations of brokenhearted women who … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Fiction, fiction, Hope, Humour, Love, Novel, romance | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Yes, a Short Story by Ann McIntyre

During a cold and damp Lent, Yes, a homeless immigrant, barely survives his crossing of the Mediterranean to Italy. Suffering from pneumonia and a multitude of injuries, he finds shelter among Bernini’s colonnade in Vatican City, drawing disdainful stares from … Continue reading

Posted in Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Easter, Faith, Fiction, fiction, Hope, Humour, Inspirational, Lent, Lenten Devotion, mystery, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

May Round-Up

Well, howdy, ya’ll! I can’t believe May is over, but then again, I’m waiting for my grandchildren to arrive, so it’s OK by me if time flies! Here are posts from your fellow Guild members to read appreciatively. (Nay, even…responsively!) … Continue reading

Posted in Blogging, Catholic Writing and Publishing, CWG member benefits, CWG Member News, Faith, fiction, History, Humour, Novel, The Writing Life | Tagged , , | Comments Off on May Round-Up

A Bend in the Road: A Year’s Journey through Breast Cancer, by Karen Kelly Boyce

The author reminds us that we all share a terminal condition: life. Sooner or later it will end. A diagnosis of cancer suggests a sooner rather than a later demise. If not fatal, cancer certainly raises the specter of a … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Theme, Faith, Hope, Humour, Inspirational, Pro-life | Tagged , , , , , , , | Comments Off on A Bend in the Road: A Year’s Journey through Breast Cancer, by Karen Kelly Boyce

Two by Alan Bradley

As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust, by Alan Bradley   I would not spill too many beans were I to say that in volume 007, Flaiva is older (12), wiser (IQ = 134) and exiled to the frozen tundra (Toronto.) … Continue reading

Posted in Flavia de Luce Mystery, Humour, Juvenile fiction, mystery, suspense, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Two by Alan Bradley

The Rosie Effect, by Graeme Simsion

  Don Tillman’s loyalty, self-sacrifice, and problem solving genius, make him welcome as a friend. We first met Don in “The Rosie Project,” (see warning below) the story of a high functioning Asperger’s individual in search of a “mate.” Don … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction, Humour, Novel, romance | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

It’s a Year for Writers!

Happy New Year Catholic writers! Here’s a few months of writing prompts for you bloggers. It’s amazing how many months-of-something have been declared by everyone from our bishops to self-promoting speakers to your local Economic Development committee. It’s possible for … Continue reading

Posted in Blogging, Catholic Writing and Publishing, Encouragement for Writers, Fiction, Humour, Inspirational, Journalism, Marketing Your Work, Writing Tips and Tricks | Tagged , , | 2 Comments