Category Archives: suspense

6 Dates to Disaster, by Cynthia T. Toney

Life can be horribly unfair, especially if you are a teen. Or so you may think. Sometimes parents can be right, but not all adult decisions seem just and reasonable. Unfortunately, adults usually have the last word. In her third … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Editing, Faith, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, Hope, Humour, Juvenile fiction, Love, Mercy, mystery, Novel, romance, suspense, Volunteering, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on 6 Dates to Disaster, by Cynthia T. Toney

Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d, by Alan Bradley

Flavia de Luce fans stand to applaud her return from her interminable trials in the tundra of Toronto. Unfortunately, her family barely recognizes her existence. “Like a pair of sick suns rising, (her sister) Daffy’s eyes came slowly up above … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Family Life, fiction, figures of speech, Flavia de Luce Mystery, Humour, Juvenile fiction, Love, mystery, Novel, science, suspense, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d, by Alan Bradley

Ornamental Graces, by Carolyn Astfalk

If you enjoy emotional rollercoasters, Ornamental Graces by Carolyn Astfalk is your book. Among the author’s many gifts is her ability to conjure up fictional characters in many shades of human decency. Imagine, if you will, Dan Malone. He has … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Faith, Family Life, fiction, Hope, Humour, Love, Mercy, Novel, romance, suspense | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Ornamental Graces, by Carolyn Astfalk

Into the Way of Peace, by Karen Kelly Boyce

Into the Way of Peace blends the mystical with the mysterious. While a blizzard swirls around an inner city church, a desperate few pass within. Some seek shelter from the storm. Others desire consolation because of life’s overwhelming burdens. One … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Faith, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, Hope, Inspirational, Mercy, mystery, Novel, Prayer, suspense, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Specter, By John Desjarlais

Specter mixes the flavors of Romero, Ghostbusters, and The Terminator with generous glops of sour cream and salsa. John Desjarlais embroils his favorite DEA agent, Selena De La Cruz in a fictional parallel to the 1993 assassination of a Cardinal … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Faith, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, History, mystery, Novel, romance, suspense, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Specter, By John Desjarlais

Fight for Liberty, by Theresa Linden

Fight for Liberty, Book Three in the Liberty trilogy, climbs to a dazzling climax, filled with plot shifts that will tantalize adult, juvenile and young adult readers. In Book One, Chasing Liberty, an inner voice she calls “My Friend” directs nineteen-year-old … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, Hope, Love, Novel, Pro-life, Reviews, suspense, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

You Were Here, by Cori McCarthy

In an act of celebration, bravado, or maybe alcohol-induced insanity, Jake Strangelove stands on the top pipe of the playground swing set, still wearing his graduation gown. He backflips as he had done so many times before, but this time, … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, fiction, Novel, Reviews, suspense, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

The End of the Hunt, by Thomas Flanagan

As Ireland marks the centennial of the Easter Rising, Thomas Flanagan’s nearly two thousand page trilogy—The Year of the French, The Tenants of Time, and The End of the Hunt—immerses readers in Ireland’s struggles between 1798 and 1923, culminating with … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Easter, fiction, History, Novel, Religious Liberty, Resurrection, Reviews, romance, suspense, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on The End of the Hunt, by Thomas Flanagan

Navajo Autumn—A Navajo Nation Mystery by R. Allen Chappell

The Navajo Nation Mystery Series mixes murder with large doses of anthropology, archaeology and the survivalist lifestyle. Fans of Tony and Anne Hillerman, and James D. Doss, will welcome these jaunts to the Four Corners region of the American west.  Set in … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Writing and Publishing, Fiction, fiction, History, Humour, mystery, Novel, suspense | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

A Test of Wills, by Charles Todd

In 1918, the combat-related illness known today as post-traumatic stress disorder was called “shell shock.” Its sufferers were more likely to be stigmatized than treated with compassion. In Charles Todd’s literary novel, A Test of Wills, Inspector Ian Rutledge, after four … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, History, Near-Death Experience, Novel, Reviews, suspense, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , | 1 Comment