Tag Archives: fiction

Fight for Liberty, by Theresa Linden

Fight for Liberty, Book Three in the Liberty trilogy, climbs to a dazzling climax, filled with plot shifts that will tantalize adult, juvenile and young adult readers. In Book One, Chasing Liberty, an inner voice she calls “My Friend” directs nineteen-year-old … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, Hope, Love, Novel, Pro-life, Reviews, suspense, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

CWG Book Blast: “Infinite Space, Infinite God II,” by Karina Fabian

This month, the Catholic Writers’ Guild is touring Guildie Karina Fabian’s book, INFINITE SPACE, INFINITE GOD II. It is a SOA winner. Teaser: Twelve science fiction stories featuring great adventure with a twist of faith. Summary: Twelve science fiction stories featuring … Continue reading

Posted in Catholic book blast, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Faith, fiction | Tagged , , , , , , | Comments Off on CWG Book Blast: “Infinite Space, Infinite God II,” by Karina Fabian

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak

Markus Zusak’s social/historical novel, The Book Thief, follows the citizens of Himmel Street in Molching, Germany between 1939 and 1943.  In particular, he logs the fortunes and misfortunes of Hans and Rosa Hubermann and their foster child, Liesel Meminger, the book … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Family Life, fiction, figures of speech, History, Hope, Humour, Juvenile fiction, Love, Novel, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Life-Changing Love, by Theresa Linden

Theresa Linden weaves three story lines throughout this second volume of her West Brothers trilogy. At the conclusion of volume one—Roland West, Loner—Roland finds a measure of happiness with his new friends, especially Caitlyn. He and she enjoy hanging out … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Beauty, Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, Love, Mercy, Novel, Pro-life, Reviews, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Life-Changing Love, by Theresa Linden

Surviving High School, by Lele Pons with Melissa de la Cruz

Social media has become the message in several recent fictional works. The plot of Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah, for instance, recounts the development of a commercially successful blogger, with some chapters take the form of blog posts. Surviving High School traces … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Blogging, Book Review, Fiction, fiction, Humour, Marketing Your Work, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Consider, by Kristy Acevedo

Acevedo dazzles with her debut YA, sci-fi novel. Imaginative, insightful and exciting, Consider draws the reader deeper and deeper through a one-way portal to another dimension—her clear and engaging style presents an open invitation to binge reading. Today’s seventeen going … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Fiction, fiction, Novel, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

CWG Book Blast: “Stay With Me,” by Carolyn Astfalk

This month, the Catholic Writers’ Guild is touring Guildie Carolyn Astfalk’s book, STAY WITH ME. It is a CWG Seal of approval winner. Teaser: With the counsel of their friend Father John, can Rebecca and Chris overcome every obstacle and … Continue reading

Posted in Catholic book blast, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Writing and Publishing, Fiction, fiction, Novel, romance | Tagged , , , , , | Comments Off on CWG Book Blast: “Stay With Me,” by Carolyn Astfalk

The End of the Hunt, by Thomas Flanagan

As Ireland marks the centennial of the Easter Rising, Thomas Flanagan’s nearly two thousand page trilogy—The Year of the French, The Tenants of Time, and The End of the Hunt—immerses readers in Ireland’s struggles between 1798 and 1923, culminating with … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Easter, fiction, History, Novel, Religious Liberty, Resurrection, Reviews, romance, suspense, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on The End of the Hunt, by Thomas Flanagan

Lazarus of Bethany: A Novel, By E. Ann McIntyre

Fictionalized representations of biblical characters often miss the mark. Nevertheless, the Bible serves as a vast treasury of plots and characters, including intriguing hints of narratives read between the lines. One of the most fascinating but little-known characters in the … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Easter, Faith, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, History, Humour, Inspirational, Lent, Love, Mercy, Prayer, Reviews, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Lazarus of Bethany: A Novel, By E. Ann McIntyre

Navajo Autumn—A Navajo Nation Mystery by R. Allen Chappell

The Navajo Nation Mystery Series mixes murder with large doses of anthropology, archaeology and the survivalist lifestyle. Fans of Tony and Anne Hillerman, and James D. Doss, will welcome these jaunts to the Four Corners region of the American west.  Set in … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Writing and Publishing, Fiction, fiction, History, Humour, mystery, Novel, suspense | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments