Category Archives: mystery

6 Dates to Disaster, by Cynthia T. Toney

Life can be horribly unfair, especially if you are a teen. Or so you may think. Sometimes parents can be right, but not all adult decisions seem just and reasonable. Unfortunately, adults usually have the last word. In her third … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Editing, Faith, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, Hope, Humour, Juvenile fiction, Love, Mercy, mystery, Novel, romance, suspense, Volunteering, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on 6 Dates to Disaster, by Cynthia T. Toney

10 steps to Girlfriend Status, by Cynthia T. Toney

Adolescence is the most difficult time of life. How do we survive it? What with all the physical, emotional, external, and self-inflicted challenges, it is no wonder that many teens lose their way on the path to maturity. In 8 … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Catholic Writing and Publishing, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, Hope, Humour, Juvenile fiction, mystery, Novel, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d, by Alan Bradley

Flavia de Luce fans stand to applaud her return from her interminable trials in the tundra of Toronto. Unfortunately, her family barely recognizes her existence. “Like a pair of sick suns rising, (her sister) Daffy’s eyes came slowly up above … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Family Life, fiction, figures of speech, Flavia de Luce Mystery, Humour, Juvenile fiction, Love, mystery, Novel, science, suspense, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d, by Alan Bradley

Into the Way of Peace, by Karen Kelly Boyce

Into the Way of Peace blends the mystical with the mysterious. While a blizzard swirls around an inner city church, a desperate few pass within. Some seek shelter from the storm. Others desire consolation because of life’s overwhelming burdens. One … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Faith, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, Hope, Inspirational, Mercy, mystery, Novel, Prayer, suspense, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Specter, By John Desjarlais

Specter mixes the flavors of Romero, Ghostbusters, and The Terminator with generous glops of sour cream and salsa. John Desjarlais embroils his favorite DEA agent, Selena De La Cruz in a fictional parallel to the 1993 assassination of a Cardinal … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Faith, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, History, mystery, Novel, romance, suspense, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Specter, By John Desjarlais

Navajo Autumn—A Navajo Nation Mystery by R. Allen Chappell

The Navajo Nation Mystery Series mixes murder with large doses of anthropology, archaeology and the survivalist lifestyle. Fans of Tony and Anne Hillerman, and James D. Doss, will welcome these jaunts to the Four Corners region of the American west.  Set in … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Writing and Publishing, Fiction, fiction, History, Humour, mystery, Novel, suspense | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Murder as a Fine Art, by David Morrell

David Morrell blends horror, history and mystery in his tale of narco-political terrorism with a twist. The author opens with a narration by “The Artist,” the antagonist who in 1854 savagely murders members of a London household near Ratcliffe Highway. … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Fiction, History, mystery | Tagged , , , , , , | 3 Comments

The Accidental Alchemist, by Gigi Pandian

Gigi Pandian’s murder-mystery offers comfort on rainy days with teahouses, a warm kitchen and a fun read. She sets her scene in Portland, Oregon, a.k.a. Portlandia, the epicenter of the alternative fringe—a perfect place to hide in plain sight. So … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Fiction, History, Humour, mystery, Novel, science | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

A Book of Scars (The Breen and Tozer Mystery Series, Volume 3), by William Shaw

Detective Sergeant Cathal “Paddy” Breen of the Metropolitan CID (Marylebone Police Station, London) can’t seem to avoid disaster whether he’s rescuing a cat from a tree, investigating a crime scene or chasing a bad guy. To his aid rides Helen … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, mystery, Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on A Book of Scars (The Breen and Tozer Mystery Series, Volume 3), by William Shaw

Yes, a Short Story by Ann McIntyre

During a cold and damp Lent, Yes, a homeless immigrant, barely survives his crossing of the Mediterranean to Italy. Suffering from pneumonia and a multitude of injuries, he finds shelter among Bernini’s colonnade in Vatican City, drawing disdainful stares from … Continue reading

Posted in Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Easter, Faith, Fiction, fiction, Hope, Humour, Inspirational, Lent, Lenten Devotion, mystery, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments