Tag Archives: Adventure

Consider, by Kristy Acevedo

Acevedo dazzles with her debut YA, sci-fi novel. Imaginative, insightful and exciting, Consider draws the reader deeper and deeper through a one-way portal to another dimension—her clear and engaging style presents an open invitation to binge reading. Today’s seventeen going … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Fiction, fiction, Novel, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

The End of the Hunt, by Thomas Flanagan

As Ireland marks the centennial of the Easter Rising, Thomas Flanagan’s nearly two thousand page trilogy—The Year of the French, The Tenants of Time, and The End of the Hunt—immerses readers in Ireland’s struggles between 1798 and 1923, culminating with … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Easter, fiction, History, Novel, Religious Liberty, Resurrection, Reviews, romance, suspense, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on The End of the Hunt, by Thomas Flanagan

Lazarus of Bethany: A Novel, By E. Ann McIntyre

Fictionalized representations of biblical characters often miss the mark. Nevertheless, the Bible serves as a vast treasury of plots and characters, including intriguing hints of narratives read between the lines. One of the most fascinating but little-known characters in the … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Easter, Faith, Family Life, Fiction, fiction, History, Humour, Inspirational, Lent, Love, Mercy, Prayer, Reviews, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Lazarus of Bethany: A Novel, By E. Ann McIntyre

Navajo Autumn—A Navajo Nation Mystery by R. Allen Chappell

The Navajo Nation Mystery Series mixes murder with large doses of anthropology, archaeology and the survivalist lifestyle. Fans of Tony and Anne Hillerman, and James D. Doss, will welcome these jaunts to the Four Corners region of the American west.  Set in … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Writing and Publishing, Fiction, fiction, History, Humour, mystery, Novel, suspense | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

The Joy of Pickling (Second Edition), by Linda Ziedrich

The Joy of Pickling (Second Edition), by Linda Ziedrich The vegetable gardener’s planning must include not only the what, when and where to plant, but must account for the storage of surplus produce when neighbors run from armfuls of over … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, science | Tagged , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

CWG Book Blast: The Thief, by Stephanie Landsem

This month, the Catholic Writers’ Guild is touring Guildie Stephanie Landsem’s book, THE THIEF, A NOVEL. It is a SOA winner. Teaser: A woman bound by lies. A soldier haunted by fear. A sacrifice that sets them free. Summary: Nissa, … Continue reading

Posted in Catholic book blast, Faith, Fiction, fiction, History, Hope, Inspirational | Tagged , , , , , , | Comments Off on CWG Book Blast: The Thief, by Stephanie Landsem

A Test of Wills, by Charles Todd

In 1918, the combat-related illness known today as post-traumatic stress disorder was called “shell shock.” Its sufferers were more likely to be stigmatized than treated with compassion. In Charles Todd’s literary novel, A Test of Wills, Inspector Ian Rutledge, after four … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, History, Near-Death Experience, Novel, Reviews, suspense, The Mystery of Suffering | Tagged , , , , , , | 1 Comment

CWG Book Blast: Saint Magnus, the Last Viking, by Susan Peek

This month, the Catholic Writers’ Guild is touring Guildie Susan Peek’s book, SAINT MAGNUS, THE LAST VIKING. It is a SOA award winner. Teaser: In this fast-paced novel for teens, the conflict unfolds between Saint Magnus Erlendson, a heroic young … Continue reading

Posted in Catholic book blast, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Faith, fiction, History, Juvenile fiction, Novel, suspense, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

The Accidental Alchemist, by Gigi Pandian

Gigi Pandian’s murder-mystery offers comfort on rainy days with teahouses, a warm kitchen and a fun read. She sets her scene in Portland, Oregon, a.k.a. Portlandia, the epicenter of the alternative fringe—a perfect place to hide in plain sight. So … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Book Review, Fiction, History, Humour, mystery, Novel, science | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Roland West, Loner, by Theresa Linden

Theresa Linden excels as a story teller. She assembles her characters from complex webs of conflict and mystery. Her penchant for plot shifts and action commands the reader’s attention. Her proclivity toward trilogies reflects her dedication to the writing craft … Continue reading

Posted in Book Review, Catholic Fiction, Catholic Theme, Christian education of youth, Faith, Fiction, Hope, Love, Mercy, Novel, The Mystery of Suffering, Young Adult Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Roland West, Loner, by Theresa Linden